Site Specific

Many centres have their own in-house training and assessment scheme for instructors to work in that centre. We run a site specific scheme in Queen’s PEC and many of the instructors have started here and gone on to higher level qualifications.

To start on the site specific course you need to be a competent indoor climber with at least 1 year’s experience. You attend a training day with an MIA instructor who covers all of the technical aspects of working as an instructor at that particular climbing wall. There is a period of consolidation before assessment where trainees gain experience by helping out on the courses. The assessment is usually half a day and trainees are tested on their technical knowledge. If they pass, they are a qualified instructor. This qualification lasts for 1 year and needs to be renewed annually.

Climbing Wall Award

The Climbing Wall Award trains and assesses candidates in the skills required to supervise climbers on purpose built artificial climbing walls and boulders. It is ideal for people who work at climbing walls or at venues with permanent or mobile climbing towers. There is also an optional Abseil Module (often run in conjunction with the Climbing Wall Award) which is all about supervising abseiling in climbing walls. More information on the CWA can be found here.

Climbing Wall Leading Award

This award trains and assesses candidates in the skills required to teach lead climbing skills on indoor or outdoor artificial climbing walls and structures with fixed protection. It builds on the skills gained through either the Climbing Wall Award or Single Pitch Award, one of which candidates must hold to access the Climbing Wall Leading Award scheme. More information on the CWLA can be found here.

Single Pitch Award

This award is all about supervising safe climbing and abseiling sessions on single pitch crags. Whether you’re a parent, a volunteer or an outdoor centre instructor, the Single Pitch Award has been designed to maintain high standards of supervision so that people can enjoy safe sessions in this increasingly popular sport. The Single Pitch Award syllabus, includes areas such as: personal skills, belaying, group leadership and management, dealing with incidents, planning sessions etc. More information on the SPA can be found here.

Mountain Leader award

The Mountain Leader award is designed for people who want to lead groups in the mountains, hills and moorlands of the UK and IrelandMountain Leaders operate the length and breadth of the country with all sorts of groups of people; from scouts and schoolchildren to outdoor instructors and OAPs. Skills covered will include personal skills, group leadership and management, dealing with incidents, movement on steep ground, emergency ropework skills, the role of the Mountain Leader, mountain weather structure of mountain leader training etc. More information on the ML award can be found here.

Mountaineering Instructor Award

This Award is for use by instructors wishing to teach all aspects of summer mountaineering in the UK and Ireland. Included in the Award are elements of teaching climbing (including lead climbing) and scrambling in the mountains, rescue procedures and higher standard personal skills such as navigation and climbing. The Award follows on from the Mountain Leader Award (which is a prerequisite) and is a natural progression for those who have completed the Single Pitch Award. The syllabus includes multi-pitch rock climbing, scrambling and other mountaineering skills. More information on the MIA can be found here.